IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity


2017 Awardees

2017 Awards presented at IEEE-NANO 2017 in Pittsburgh.

Early Career Award

Professor Duygu Kuzum
Jacobs School of Engineering
University of California, San Diego

“For pioneering contributions towards the development of nanoelectronic synaptic devices for neuromorphic computing.”

Pioneer Award

Professor Paras N. Prasad
Executive Director
Institute for Lasers, Photonics and Biophotonics
State University of New York at Buffalo

“For pioneering contributions in creating multifunctional nanoprobes, applying nanophotonics in biomedical technology, and educating future researchers”

Distinguished Service Award

Dominic Massetti
OmniVision Technologies, Inc.
Seal Beach, CA

“Exemplary service to the IEEE San Francisco Bay Area Nanotechnology Council Chapter by organizing and facilitating educational and networking events.”

Chapter of the Year Award

San Francisco Bay Area Chapter
Chair: Glenn Friedman

2016 T-NANO Best Paper Award

“Wave-Based Neuromorphic Computing Framework for Brain-Like Energy Efficiency and Integration”
Co-authors: Yasunao Katayama, Toshiyuki, Yamane, Daiju Nakano, Ryosho Nakane, and Gouhei Tanaka
IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology Vol. 16, No. 5, 762-769 (2016)