IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity


2021 Awardees

2021 Individual Awards will be presented at IEEE NANO 2021 in Montreal, Canada

Pioneer Award
The Pioneer Award recognizes individuals who have had a significant impact on the field of nanotechnology by virtue of initiating new areas of research, development or engineering.

Professor Jean-Pierre Leburton
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

“For pioneering contribution to the theory and simulation of semiconductor nanostructures and low dimensional nanoscale devices.”


Early Career Awards
The Early Career Award recognizes individuals who have made contributions with a major impact on the field of nanotechnology.

Professor Max Shulaker
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

“For his pioneering work in carbon nanotubes and the broad area of nano-systems, including nanofabrication technologies, nanodevices, circuits, and architectures.”

Dr. Myeong-Lok Seol
NASA Ames Research Center

“For innovative contributions to the development of triboelectric power generation and printed supercapacitors for space missions.”


Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual who has performed outstanding service for the benefit and advancement of the Nanotechnology Council.

Professor John Yeow
University of Waterloo

“For distinguished service, including accomplishments as an Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine and other service achievements.”


To view the full detailed listing of each award please visit the Awards page on our website. Nominations are due on 1 October of each year. Nominators should utilize the forms associated with each award description found here. For further information, please contact the Awards Committee Chair.