IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity


2018 Awardees

2018 Individual Awards presented at IEEE NMDC 2018 in Portland, Oregon.

Early Career Award

Professor Can Bayram
Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

“For seminal contributions to III-V quantum devices and their hetero-integration on silicon and graphene platforms through nanotechnology.”

Pioneer Award
Prof. Nader Engheta
H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor
Electrical and Systems Engineering,
Physics and Astronomy,
Materials Science and Engineering,
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering

“For his transformative contributions to the nanoscience and nanotechnology of photonic metamaterials and for the development of optical nanocircuits”


T-NANO Best Paper of the Year 2017 Award, presented at IEEE-NANO in Cork, Ireland.

“Negative Capacitance for Boosting Tunnel FET performance”
Co-authors: Masaharu Kobayashi; Kyungmin Jang; Nozomu Ueyama; and Toshiro Hiramoto, Institute of Industrial Science, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology Vol. 16 , No. 2 , 253 – 258, (March 2017 ) (DOI: 10.1109/TNANO.2017.2658688)
To read the paper go to