IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity


2016 Awardees

2016 Awards presented at IEEE-NANO 2016 in Sendai, Japan.

Early Career Award in Nanotechnology (two awardees):

Tak Sing Wong
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Pennsylvania State University

“For significant contributions to the field of biologically inspired surface nanoengineering”


Jin-Woo Han
Research Scientist
NASA Ames Research Center
Moffet Field, CA

“For innovative contributions to the development of nanoelectronics, devices, and nanosensors”


Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology: 

Shawn-Yu Lin
Professor of Physics
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

“For pioneering contribution to the development of 3D optical photonic-crystals and the discovery of the darkest nano-material on earth”


Distinguished Service Award:

Edward G. Perkins

“For excellence as the IEEE Nanotechnology Council Secretary and outstanding contributions to the Council’s conference activities”