IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

Second University at Buffalo-IEEE Nano-Symposium

The 2nd UB-IEEE Nano-Symposium will be held on September 21-23, 2022, at the University at Buffalo, The State University of New York.

The Symposium is chaired by Prof. Huamin Li (Department of Electrical Engineering) and sponsored by IEEE EDS Buffalo Chapter (Chair: Prof. Vasili Perebeinos), IEEE Buffalo Section (Chair: Padma Kasthurirangan), Department of Electrical Engineering (Chair: Prof. Jonathan Bird) and School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (Dean: Prof. Kemper Lewis) at the University at Buffalo.

Especially, a special session is organized on September 21 to celebrate “the 75th anniversary of the transistor”, in which a series of invited talks will review the transistor technology in different perspectives, including nanomaterials in transistors (Prof. Aaron Franklin, Duke University), two-dimensional transistors (Prof. Xiangfeng Duan, University of California, Los Angeles), tunnel transistors (Prof. Alan Seabaugh, University of Notre Dame), flexible transistors (Prof. John Rogers, Northwestern University), neuromorphic memtransistors (Prof. Mark Hersam, Northwestern University), and power transistors (Prof. Grace Xing, Cornell University).

For information on participation contact:

Huamin Li, Ph.D.
Department of Electrical Engineering
University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
Phone: (716) 645-1026

Time: 09/21/2022 – 09/23/2022


Buffalo room, Capen Hall
University at Buffalo, Buffalo, New York


  • IEEE EDS Buffalo Chapter
  • IEEE Young Professionals
  • UB EE Department
  • UB School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • IEEE Buffalo Section
  • IEEE EDS (to be confirmed)
  • IEEE Region 1 (to be confirmed)


Day 1, 09/21/2022, Wednesday

Special seminar to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the transistor

Invited talks (the speakers have confirmed their participation)

  • History and future of transistor (Prof. Aaron Franklin, Duke)
  • 2D transistors (Prof. Xiangfeng Duan, UCLA)
  • Tunnel transistors (Prof. Alan Seabaugh, Notre Dame)
  • Negative capacitance transistors (Prof. Sayeef Salahuddin, UCB)
  • Flexible transistors (Prof. John Rogers, Northwestern)
  • Neuromorphic memtransistors (Prof. Mark Hersam, Northwestern)
  • Power transistors (Prof. Grace Xing, Cornell)

Day 2, 09/22/2022, Thursday

  • UB-IEEE Nano-Symposium (Nanoelectronics and optoelectronics)
  • UB faculty representative talks x2 (to be confirmed)
  • EE student presentations x12

Day 3, 09/23/2022, Friday

  • UB-IEEE Nano-Symposium (Energy system and signal/networking communications)
  • UB faculty representative talks x2 (to be confirmed)
  • EE student presentations x12


Comments are closed.