IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

2023 Nanotechnology Council Awards Ceremony

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council announces its 2023 Award Winners. Awards were presented at its 23rd IEEE International Conference on Nanotechnology (NANO 2023) held in Jeju, Republic of Korea on 3-5 July 2023.

The Pioneer, Early Career, Chapter of the Year, TNANO Best Paper, Technical Committee, and Best PhD Thesis awards were featured.


The NTC Pioneer Award in nanotechnology is to recognize individuals who by virtue of initiating new areas of research, development or engineering have had a significant impact on the field of nanotechnology. The award is intended for people who are in the mid or late portions of their careers, i.e., at least 10 years beyond his or her highest earned academic degree on the nomination deadline date.

2023 Pioneer Award Recipient

Xiangfeng Duan Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, UCLA

“For pioneering contribution to the synthesis and integration of nanoscale materials and devices, especially Van der Waals heterostructures and devices”

Professor Xiangfeng Duan received his B.S. Degree from University of Science and Technology of China in 1997, and Ph.D. degree from Harvard University in 2002. He was a Founding Scientist and then Manager of Advanced Technology at Nanosys Inc., a nanotechnology startup founded based partly on his doctoral research. Dr. Duan joined UCLA with a Howard Reiss Career Development Chair in 2008, and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2012 and Full Professor in 2013. Dr. Duan’s research interest includes nanoscale materials, devices and their applications in future electronic and energy technologies. Dr. Duan has published over 300 papers with over 85,000 citations, and holds >50 issued US patents. Dr. Duan has received many awards for his pioneering research in nanoscale science and technology, including MIT Technology Review Top-100 Innovator Award, NIH Director’s New Innovator Award, NSF Career Award, Alpha Chi Sigma Glen T. Seaborg Award, Herbert Newby McCoy Research Award, US Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), ONR Young Investigator Award, DOE Early Career Scientist Award, Human Frontier Science Program Young Investigator Award, Dupont Young Professor, Journal of Materials Chemistry Lectureship, International Union of Materials Research Society and Singapore Materials Research Society Young Researcher Award, the Beilby Medal and Prize, the Nano Korea Award, International Society of Electrochemistry Zhao-Wu Tian Prize for Energy Electrochemistry, Science China Materials Innovation Award, AIP Horizons Lectureship, NanoMaterials Science Young Scientist Award, and Materials Research Society Middle Career Researcher Award. He is currently an elected Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry and Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science.



The Nanotechnology Council has established an Early Career Award to recognize individuals who have made contributions with major impact on the field of nanotechnology. Up to two awards may be given per year. There may be one award for academics (persons employed by colleges or universities) and one for persons employed by industry or government organizations.

2023 Early Career Award Recipient

Deep Jariwala, Department of Electrical & Systems Engineering, University of Pennsylvania

“For breakthrough contributions in logic, memory and photonic devices from low-dimensional semiconductors”

Professor Deep Jariwala is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering at the University of Pennsylvania (Penn). Deep completed his undergraduate degree in Metallurgical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Banaras Hindu University and his Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University. Deep was a Resnick Prize Postdoctoral Fellow at Caltech before joining Penn to start his own research group. His research interests broadly lie at the intersection of new materials, surface science and solid-state devices for computing, opto-electronics and energy harvesting applications in addition to the development of correlated and functional imaging techniques. Deep’s research has been widely recognized with several awards from professional societies, funding bodies, industries as well as private foundations the most notable ones being the IEEE Photonics Society Young Investigator Award, IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize in Semiconductors, the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship and the Bell Labs Prize. He has published over 100 journal papers with more than 16000 citations and holds several patents.



The IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) Chapter of the Year Award is intended to encourage a successful and effective overall performance of the Chapter in terms of its activities.

The winner of the Chapter of the Year Award (read more) for 2022 is the University of Saskatchewan IEEE Nanotechnology Council Student Branch Chapter.

Chair: José Alvim Berkenbrock

“For outstanding performance during adverse times and innovative and collaborative initiatives that engaged nanotechnology experts and IEEE volunteers”



At the beginning of each year, T-NANO selects a paper that appeared in the Transactions during the previous calendar year for its Best Paper Award.  Candidate papers are nominated by members of the Editorial Board.  Evaluation is done by members of the Senior Editors Panel, with criteria including technical merit, originality, potential impact on the field, clarity of presentation, and practical significance for applications.

TNANO 2022 Best Paper Award Recipients

“Edge Engineered Graphene Nanoribbons as Nanoscale Interconnect: DFT Analysis,” in IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology, vol. 21, pp. 43-51, 2022,
doi: 10.1109/TNANO.2021.3140041.

Authors: Sonal Agrawal and Anurag Srivastava, Advanced Nanomaterials Research Group (AMRG), Gwalior, India; Gaurav Kaushal, VLSI Design Laboratory ABV-Indian Institute of Information Technology, Management at Gwalior, Gwalior, India; Ashok Srivastava, Division of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, USA



Each year, the Council will provide an award for the best Technical Committee (TC) for the prior year.

The winner of the 2022 Technical Committee Award (read more) is:

TC-16 (Quantum, Neuromorphic, and Unconventional Computing)

Chair: Giovanni Finocchio






This annual award recognizes a PhD thesis in nanotechnology with remarkable technology innovation or excellence which should have led to publications in NTC venues including journals and conferences. The awardee will be selected by a committee composed of the Chair and three members. The Chair is appointed by the NTC President with recommendation from the VP of Educational Activities.

2023  Best PhD Thesis Awardee

Chuanzhen Zhao, Ph.D.
Department of Chemical Engineering, Stanford University

“For developing and applying nanoscale tools critical to chemical sensing for the BRAIN Initiative, with further applications in wearable sensors”

Chuanzhen Zhao, Ph.D., is an NIH/NIBIB NRSA F32 postdoctoral fellow in Prof. Zhenan Bao’s lab at Stanford University. Dr. Zhao currently works on developing flexible and stretchable biosensors and bioelectronics.

Dr. Zhao did his Ph.D. with Prof. Paul S. Weiss and Prof. Anne M. Andrews at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). His Ph.D. research focused on developing translational biosensors, including implantable neuroprobes and wearable devices, to monitor chemical signaling in the body.


Comments are closed.