IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

IEEE Nanotechnology Council 2023 Election Results

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) elected new officers at its Annual Administrative Committee Meeting held in Jeju, Republic of Korea, on 2 July 2023.

Representatives of the twenty-two IEEE Societies who are Council members gather annually to conduct Council business and elect officers. This year saw the introduction the second set of Vice-president-elects and Members-at -Large. The positions up for election were: VP-elect for Conferences and VP-elect for Finances (3 years, elect 2024; VP 2025-2026), and Member-at-Large (MAL) (up to 3) (2024-2025).

John T.W. Yeow, University of Waterloo (Canada) was elected VP-elect for Conferences and Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske, Portland State University (USA) was elected VP-elect for Finances.

Sanjukta Bhanja, University of South Florida and Li Tao, Southeast University, Nanjing, China were elected Members-at-Large 2024-25.

VP-elect for Finances (3 years, elect 2024; VP 2025-2026)

Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske is Professor of ECE and Director of VLSI & Emerging Technology DA Laboratory at Portland State University, where she was ECE Department chair from 2004 to 2010. Previously, she was with the Technical University of Warsaw and the Research and Production Center of Semiconductor Devices. She holds a Ph.D degree in EE from Auburn University. Her research interests include CAD for VLSI and 3DICs, nanotechnology and nano/bio systems, and design for emerging and renewable technologies. She has presented tutorial, keynote, and invited talks at international conferences, published 150+ technical papers, and serves as panelist/reviewer for the National Science Foundation, National Research Council Canada, and international journals and conferences. Her research has been supported by NSF and industry.

She received the 1990 Best Paper Award from Alabama Section of IEEE and IEEE CEDA 2008 Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award in IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided-Design.

She is the current NTC VP for Finances and was reelected.


VP-elect for Conferences (3 years, elect 2024; VP 2025-2026)

John T. W. Yeow is currently a Professor and a University Research Chair in the Department of Systems Design Engineering at University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON, Canada. He is focused on the development of micro/nanodevices for a wide range of applications. He is a recipient of the Professional Engineers Ontario Engineering Excellence Award, Natural Science & Engineering Research Canada Innovation Challenge Award, Douglas R. Colton’s Medal of Research Excellence, Micralyne Microsystems Design Award, Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation’s Early Researcher Award, University of Toronto Alumni Association 7T6 Early Career Award, 2011 IEEE NANO Excellence Paper award and IEEE Canada Outstanding Engineer Award. He was a Canada Research Chair in Micro/Nanodevices (2004 – 2019). He is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, the Engineering Institute of Canada, Engineers Canada, and a Member of College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists of the Royal Society of Canada.


Members-at-Large (MAL)  (2024-2025)

Sanjukta Bhanja is a professor in the Electrical Engineering department at the University of South Florida. She earned her bachelor’s degree in EE from Jadavpur University (1991), master’s degree from the Indian Institute of Science (1994), and a PhD in Computer Science and Engineering from the University of South Florida (2002). Currently serving as Engineering’s Executive Associate Dean, Bhanja manages faculty affairs, finance, HR, and space. Her research in nano-electronics and applied physics is supported by the National Science Foundation and NASA. Bhanja has graduated 12 PhD students who work in high-tech industries, and she advises four doctoral students, including three women. Her research has been published in top-tier peer-reviewed journals and conferences like Nature Nanotechnology. Bhanja has received the NSF CAREER award, university-level outstanding research and teaching awards, and the Florida Education Foundation William Jones Outstanding Mentor Award. She is a fellow of the Executive Leadership in the Academic Technology, Engineering, and Science (ELATES at Drexel®) program.




Li Tao is a full professor at Southeast University, Nanjing, China. His research interests focus on 2D materials and their flexible/wearable devices for health care and internet of things, which had been featured in TIME blog, Nature News and 50+ tech media. He is an inventor of the silicene field-effect transistor and 12’’ wafer-scale graphene on evaporated Cu for GHz flexible RF electronics. He has published 60+ research articles, including first or corresponding author Nature Nanotechnology (citations>1200), Chemical Society Reviews, ACS Nano, Advanced Functional Materials etc., with a h-index 30 and citations ~5000. He is a principle investigator of several research projects with a total funding accumulated over $1.5M. Prof. Tao is an associate editor for Research and Microelectronics Engineering, a committee member for EIPBN (3-beam) conference. He is a senior member of IEEE and NTC Distinguished Lecturer.




Comments are closed.