IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

IEEE NTC WIN – Celebrating International Women’s Day

EVENT: IEEE NTC WIN Celebrating International Women’s Day


15 March 2022, 8pm(EST)


  • Introduction of IEEE NTC WIN Committee
  • Seminar: “Hold the Door! Making Way for the Next Generation of Scholars and Leaders”, Pamela Norris
  • Closing Remarks: “About IEEE WIE”, Celia Shahnaz

View recording on the NTC WIN (IEEE members only)
To apply to join the NTC WIN Committee see the committee page.

Event Chair:

Dr. Kanika Singh, IEEE NTC WIN Chair

Dr.Kanika Singh is the IEEE Nanotechnology Council WIN (Women in Nanotechnology) Chair and the NTC’s representative to the IEEE Women in Engineering.


Pamela Norris is the Vice Provost for Research at George Washington University, and is an honorary member of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), recipient of the Society of Women Engineers Distinguished Engineering Educator Award, former chair of the ASME National Nanotechnology Institute’s Committee on Nanotechnology Education, former Vice President of Institutional Councils for the American Society for Engineering Education, and now serves as Editor-in-Chief of Nanoscale and Microscale Thermophysical Engineering. She is known for international leadership in nano and microscale thermal science and for her dedication to increasing diversity in the STEM disciplines. She is the co-author of the book “Women in Nanotechnology Contributions from the Atomic Level and Up”, part of the Women in Engineering and Science book series by Springer.

Edited by Pamela M. Norris and Lisa E. Friedersdorf

Prof.Celia Shahnaz, 2022 IEEE WIE Committee Chair-Elect

Celia Shahnaz, SMIEEE, Fellow IEB, received Ph.D. degree from Concordia University, Canada and is currently a Professor at, Department of EEE, BUET, Bangladesh since 2015.

She has published more than 150 international journal/conference papers. She is a recipient of the Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship/Fellowship and Bangladesh Academy of Science Gold Medal for her contribution in Science and Technology. Her research interests include the areas of signal processing for speech analysis and speech enhancement, audio-visual recognition for biometric security, control system, robotics, pattern recognition,  machine learning and deep learning for audio, video, biomedical, power signals, multimodal emotion recognition, and humanitarian technology.

She is the recipient of the 2021 IEEE MGA Achievement Award, 2021 Inspiring Women in Academia Award from Bangladesh brand forum, 2019 R10 Humanitarian Activities Outstanding Volunteer Award, 2016 MGA Leadership Award 2015 WIE Inspiring Member Award, 2013 R10 WIE Professional Volunteer Award.

She has been elected as 2022 IEEE WIE Committee Chair-Elect and she will serve as the 2023-2024 IEEE WIE Committee Chair. She has been appointed as 2022-23 Member, IEEE New Initiative Committee, 2021-23 Chair, IEEE SPS Women in Signal Processing, 2021-23 Liaison between IEEE SPS and IEEE WIE. She has been appointed as 2021-22 Member, IEEE History Committee, Liaison between IEEE History Committee and IEEE WIE.





Comments are closed.