IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

Archive for the ‘Women in Nanotechnology’ Category

IEEE NTC WIN – Virtual Round Table, DEI Prospects and Challenges

Monday, April 4th, 2022

To be successful, diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) strategies require the ongoing support of the entire organization, as well as continued application of improvement. Join the IEEE Nanotechnology Council Women in Nanotechnology (WIN) for this important Virtual round table discussion on DEI prospects and challenges.

IEEE Diversity Statement:

IEEE’s mission to foster technological innovation and excellence to benefit humanity requires the talents and perspectives of people with different personal, cultural, and disciplinary backgrounds. IEEE is committed to advancing diversity in the technical profession, and to promoting an inclusive and equitable culture that welcomes, engages, and rewards all who contribute to the field, without regard to race, religion, gender, disability, age, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression. For further information visit the IEEE diversity website.

DATE: 20 April 2022

Register here


Kanika Singh, IEEE NTC Women in Nanotechnology Chair


  • Fabrizio Lombardi, IEEE NTC President
  • Kanika Singh, IEEE NTC Women in Nanotechnology Chair
  • Jenifer Castillo R., IEEE WIE (Women in Engineering) Chair
  • Dalma Novak, IEEE Technical Activities Board (TAB) Committee on Diversity and Inclusion (CDI) Chair


Topic Speaker Time slot
Welcome & Introduction Nanotechnology Council, IEEE NTC WIN Fabrizio Lombardi 10 mins
IEEE NTC WIN Vision and Mission and WIE pledge Kanika Singh 10 mins
WIE Efforts and challenges towards DEI Jenifer Castillo R. 20 mins
DEI Challenges and prospects with Societies/Council Business cases Dalma Novak 20 mins
Open discussion ALL Panelists 20 mins


IEEE NTC WIN – Celebrating International Women’s Day

Sunday, February 27th, 2022

EVENT: IEEE NTC WIN Celebrating International Women’s Day


15 March 2022, 8pm(EST)


  • Introduction of IEEE NTC WIN Committee
  • Seminar: “Hold the Door! Making Way for the Next Generation of Scholars and Leaders”, Pamela Norris
  • Closing Remarks: “About IEEE WIE”, Celia Shahnaz

View recording on the NTC WIN (IEEE members only)
To apply to join the NTC WIN Committee see the committee page.

Event Chair:

Dr. Kanika Singh, IEEE NTC WIN Chair

Dr.Kanika Singh is the IEEE Nanotechnology Council WIN (Women in Nanotechnology) Chair and the NTC’s representative to the IEEE Women in Engineering.


Pamela Norris is the Vice Provost for Research at George Washington University, and is an honorary member of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), recipient of the Society of Women Engineers Distinguished Engineering Educator Award, former chair of the ASME National Nanotechnology Institute’s Committee on Nanotechnology Education, former Vice President of Institutional Councils for the American Society for Engineering Education, and now serves as Editor-in-Chief of Nanoscale and Microscale Thermophysical Engineering. She is known for international leadership in nano and microscale thermal science and for her dedication to increasing diversity in the STEM disciplines. She is the co-author of the book “Women in Nanotechnology Contributions from the Atomic Level and Up”, part of the Women in Engineering and Science book series by Springer.

Edited by Pamela M. Norris and Lisa E. Friedersdorf

Prof.Celia Shahnaz, 2022 IEEE WIE Committee Chair-Elect

Celia Shahnaz, SMIEEE, Fellow IEB, received Ph.D. degree from Concordia University, Canada and is currently a Professor at, Department of EEE, BUET, Bangladesh since 2015.

She has published more than 150 international journal/conference papers. She is a recipient of the Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship/Fellowship and Bangladesh Academy of Science Gold Medal for her contribution in Science and Technology. Her research interests include the areas of signal processing for speech analysis and speech enhancement, audio-visual recognition for biometric security, control system, robotics, pattern recognition,  machine learning and deep learning for audio, video, biomedical, power signals, multimodal emotion recognition, and humanitarian technology.

She is the recipient of the 2021 IEEE MGA Achievement Award, 2021 Inspiring Women in Academia Award from Bangladesh brand forum, 2019 R10 Humanitarian Activities Outstanding Volunteer Award, 2016 MGA Leadership Award 2015 WIE Inspiring Member Award, 2013 R10 WIE Professional Volunteer Award.

She has been elected as 2022 IEEE WIE Committee Chair-Elect and she will serve as the 2023-2024 IEEE WIE Committee Chair. She has been appointed as 2022-23 Member, IEEE New Initiative Committee, 2021-23 Chair, IEEE SPS Women in Signal Processing, 2021-23 Liaison between IEEE SPS and IEEE WIE. She has been appointed as 2021-22 Member, IEEE History Committee, Liaison between IEEE History Committee and IEEE WIE.





Women in Nanotechnology Representative for IEEE NTC

Wednesday, February 9th, 2022

We are pleased to announce Dr.Kanika Singh as the IEEE Nanotechnology Council WIN (Women in Nanotechnology) Chair. She is also the NTC’s representative to the IEEE Women in Engineering.

Dr. Kanika Singh is the Senior Member of IEEE and working as Senior Project Manager at ABS (American Bureau of Shipping). Dr. Singh pursued her education from Top  university, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT, Delhi), Karlsruhe University, Germany and Ph.D from Pusan National University, South Korea. With her 25 years of IEEE Membership, she took various roles and positions at IEEE. Now serving as the Advisory Board Member of IEEE NTC TryNano and  IEEE WISE. Also served as Vice Chair of IEEE IMS/EMBS Delhi chapter.

She is recipient of various technical fellowship awards and academic awards, few of them include the prestigious Brain Korea (BK21) fellowship Award, Korean Research Fellowship (KRF) award, Best paper awardee at IEEE-IEC_KATS, IEEE Outstanding Young Engineer Award, DAAD German government fellowship award, and Outstanding research paper award at Int. conf. Kyushu University, Japan.  She worked as the International Scholar at IMEC-KU-Leuven, Belgium and  research on BioMEMS/Nanotechnology/Instrumentation/standards fetched some awards such as Best paper Award for Region 10, at IEEE Int. Conf. at Atlanta- Georgia USA. She also has given various invited talks at different forums.

As Chair of the WIN Committee, her main motive is in developing and implementing systematic for sustainable strategies for WIN committee plans in 2022. See the WIN Committee page for details.



Follow NTC on Linked-in

Wednesday, January 12th, 2022


The NTC has several Linked-in sites:

Main NTC ‘company’ page:

NTC Women in Nanotechnology (WIN) ‘company’ page:

NTC Young Professionals (YP):