IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

2022 Nanotechnology Awards Ceremony

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council announces its 2022 Award Winners. Awards were presented at its 22st IEEE International Conference on Nanotechnology (NANO 2022) held in Mallorca on 6-8 July 2022.


The NTC Pioneer Award in nanotechnology is to recognize individuals who by virtue of initiating new areas of research, development or engineering have had a significant impact on the field of nanotechnology. The award is intended for people who are in the mid or late portions of their careers, i.e., at least 10 years beyond his or her highest earned academic degree on the nomination deadline date.

2022 Pioneer Award Recipient

Xiuling Li, The University of Texas, Austin

“For innovative contributions to nanoscale device growth, fabrication, and demonstration especially nanowire epitaxy, metal-assisted chemical etching, and self-rolled-up nanomembrane technology”

Xiuling Li is a Temple Foundation Endowed Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Microelectronics Research Center at The University of Texas at Austin. Her research focuses on nanostructured semiconductor materials and devices. She has published >160 journal papers and holds >20+ patents, delivered > 120 invited lectures worldwide. Her research opens new avenues by using innovative epitaxial growth and nanofabrication approaches including metalorganic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD) of III-N and Ga2O3, metal-assisted chemical vapor deposition (MacEtch), and strain-induced self-rolled-up membranes (S-RuM), to address the ever-present needs to reduce the size, weight, power, and cost (SWAP-C) of microelectronic devices, among other applications.

She has been honored with the NSF CAREER award, DARPA Young Faculty Award, and ONR Young Investigator Award. She is a Fellow of the IEEE, the American Physics Society (APS), the Optical Society (OSA), and the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).





The Nanotechnology Council has established an Early Career Award to recognize individuals who have made contributions with major impact on the field of nanotechnology. Up to two awards may be given per year. There may be one award for academics (persons employed by colleges or universities) and one for persons employed by industry or government organizations.

2022 Early Career Award Recipient

Deblina Sarkar, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

“For innovative work in development of energy-efficient next-generation computing technology and fusion of nanotechnology with biology towards understanding the brain.”

Deblina Sarkar, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and AT&T Career Development Chair Professor at MIT Media Lab. She is Founder and Director of Nano-Cybernetic Biotrek research group. She is a trans-disciplinary innovator, initially trained in electrical engineering and physics and then, has traversed the realm of biology, driven by curiosity and belief that truly disruptive technologies can immerge at the interface of diverse research arenas.

Her group carries out trans-disciplinary research fusing engineering, applied physics, and biology, aiming to bridge the gap between nanotechnology and synthetic biology to develop disruptive technologies for nanoelectronic devices and create new paradigms for life-machine symbiosis.




The IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) Chapter of the Year Award is intended to encourage a successful and effective overall performance of the Chapter in terms of its activities.

The winner of the Chapter of the Year Award (read more) for 2021 is the IEEE Nanotechnology Student Branch Chapter IIT Indore.

“For creating an interactive platform to incorporate design, and development of nanotechnology and it’s scientific, engineering, and industrial applications”



At the beginning of each year, T-NANO selects a paper that appeared in the Transactions during the previous calendar year for its Best Paper Award.  Candidate papers are nominated by members of the Editorial Board.  Evaluation is done by members of the Senior Editors Panel, with criteria including technical merit, originality, potential impact on the field, clarity of presentation, and practical significance for applications.

TNANO 2021 Best Paper Award Recipients

Yuan-Chun Luo, Jae Hur and Shimeng Yu, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA, for the paper “Ferroelectric Tunnel Junction Based Crossbar Array Design for Neuro-Inspired Computing,” in IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology, vol. 20, pp. 243-247, 2021, doi: 10.1109/TNANO.2021.3066319.



Each year, the Council will provide an award for the best Technical Committee (TC) for the prior year.

The winner of the 2022 Technical Committee Award (read more) is:

TC 6: Nanoelectronics

Chair: Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske







Comments are closed.