IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

IEEE International Workshop on Nanotechnology for Robotics and Intelligent Systems

Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the Program Committee, we are glad to inform you that the following topical lectures will be offered on September 22 and 23 during the IEEE International Workshop on Nanotechnology for Robotics and Intelligent Systems (IEEE-NRIS 2017), which will be held at the Northeastern University at Qinhuangdao, in Hebei, China, from September 21-24, 2017:

  • Light-controlled Cellular Surgery
  • Industrial Robotics at Nanoscale
  • Physical Human-Robot Interaction and Its Application to Assistive Robot Systems
  • Screening of Affinity Reagents on Integrated Microfluidic Systems and Their Applications for Fast Diagnosis
  • Multidimensional Cellular Analysis from 1D to 3DEnabled by Robotic Micro/Nano Manipulation
  • Nanoparticle Film Sensors for ElectronicsPackaging Reliability
  • Bridging Biological Neural System and Machine
  • Programmable Molecular/Nanoscale Building Blocks and Development Strategies for Real-Time, in Vivo Molecular/Nano Sensors
  • Spherical Robot Based on a Holonomic Mobile Platform

We now encourage students and researchers interested in Nanotechnology, Robotics, and Intelligent Systems, especially in the cross-disciplinary research between these fields to register and attend the workshop.  Detailed registration information can be found at the workshop website:

Brief Introduction of the Plenary Speakers:

It is our great honor to have confirmed the following renowned researchers in nanotechnology, robotics, and intelligent systems disciplines to deliver lectures in IEEE-NRIS 2017:

Professor Eric ChiouUCLA, USA

  • The NSF CAREER Award in 2008
  • The UCLA MAE Teaching Award in 2014
  • The JALA TOP TEN Innovation Award in 2015
  • Fellow of AIMBE and RSC

Professor Rosa ChanCity Univ. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

  • The Croucher Scholarship in 2004
  • The Sir Edward Youde Memorial Fellowship for Overseas Studies in 2004
  • Asia Pacific Representative of the IEEE EMBS Administrative Committee

Professor Sergej FatikowThe Univ. of Oldenburg, Germany

  • Head, Division for Microrobotics & Control Engineering (AMiR), The Univ. of
  • Oldenburg, Germany
  • Head, TC Automated Nanohandling, Research Center OFFIS, Germany

Professor Toshio FukudaBeijing Institute of Technology, China/Meijo Univ., Japan

  • Academician of The Engineering Academy of Japan
  • Past President of IEEE Robotics and Automation Society
  • IEEE Robotics and Automation Technical Field Award

Professor Kazuhiro KosugeTohoku Univ., Japan

  • Past President of IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (2010-2011)
  • Division X Director of the Board of Directors of IEEE (2015-2016)
  • Fellow of SICE, JSME, RSJ and IEEE

Professor Jin-Woo KimUniv. of Arkansas, USA

  • Vice President of Publications in IEEE Nanotechnology Council (2017-2019)
  • Fellow of the American Institute of Medical & Biological Engineering (AIMBE)
  • IEEE Nanotechnology Distinguished Lecturer (2017)

Professor Gwo-Bin LeeNational Tsinghua Univ., Taiwan

  • Associate Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology
  • Fellow of ASME, RSC, IET and IEEE

Professor Wen Jung LiCity Univ. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

  • President of IEEE Nanotechnology Council
  • Awardee of the “100 Talents Plan” of Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Fellow of ASME and IEEE

Professor Lianqing LiuShenyang Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

  • IEEE Early Government/Industrial Career Award in 2011
  • Rising Star Award of 3M-Nano Society in 2015

Professor Fabrizio LombardiNortheastern Univ., USA

  • Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology
  • Member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Computer Society
  • Meritorious Service Award in 2011
  • Fellow of IEEE

Professor James MorrisPortland State Univ., USA

  • Vice President for Finance in the NTC
  • Distinguished Lecturer for the EPS and the NTC
  • Life Fellow of IEEE

Professor Aiguo MingThe Univ. of Electro-Communications, Japan

  • Fellow of IEEE

Professor Zhidong WangChiba Institute of Technology, Japan

  • Member of AdCom, IEEE Robotics and Automation Society
  • Excellent Paper Award of DARS

Professor Ning XiThe Univ. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

  • President-elect of IEEE Robotics and Automation Society
  • President, Shenzhen Academy of Robotics
  • IEEE Early Academic Career Award in 1999

Professor Yong ZhaoNortheastern Univ., China

  • Awardee of National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars
  • Awardees of Changjiang Scholars Program in 2015

Doctor Guanglie ZhangShenzhen Acadamy of Robotics, China

  • Vice President of Shenzhen Academy of Robotics

Best regards,

General Chair: Jianchang Liu (Northeastern University)

Chair of International Advisory Committee: Wen Jung Li (City University of Hong Kong)

Program Chair: Yuliang Zhao (Northeastern University at Qinhuangdao)

Organizing Chair: Fei Fei (Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics)

Co-Organizing Chair: Zhenhe Ma (Northeastern University at Qinhuangdao)




Comments are closed.