IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

  • Latest News

  • News Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

  • Upcoming Events

2016 NTC Award Winners Announced

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council announces its 2016 Award Winners. Awards will be presented at its flagship IEEE International Conference on Nanotechnology (IEEE-NANO) being held August 22 to 25, 2016 in Sendai, Japan.

Early Career Award

The Early Career Award recognizes individuals who have made contributions with major impact on the field of nanotechnology. Up to two awards may be given per year. There may be one award for academics (persons employed by colleges or universities) and one for persons employed by industry or government organizations.

Prof. Tak Sing Wong
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Pennsylvania State University

Citation: “For significant contributions to the field of biologically inspired surface nanoengineering”


Jin-Woo Han
Research Scientist
NASA Ames Research Center, Moffet Field, CA

Citation: “For innovative contributions to the development of nanoelectronics, devices, and nanosensors”


Pioneer Award

The Pioneer Award in nanotechnology is to recognize individuals who by virtue of initiating new areas of research, development or engineering have had a significant impact on the field of nanotechnology.

Shawn-Yu Lin,
Professor of Physics
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Citation: “For pioneering contribution to the development of 3D optical photonic-crystals and the discovery of the darkest nano-material on earth”


Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual who has performed outstanding service for the benefit and advancement of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council.

Edward G. Perkins

Citation: “For excellence as the IEEE Nanotechnology Council Secretary and outstanding contributions to the Council’s conference activities”


Comments are closed.