IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

Nanoscale Communications TC

Nanoscale Communications Technical Committee (TC 14)

Scope and Mission:

As a result of recent advances in MEMS/NEMS and systems biology, as well as the emergence of synthetic bacteria and lab/process-on-a-chip techniques, it is now possible to design chemical “circuits”, custom organisms, micro/nanoscale swarms of devices, and a host of other new systems at small length scales, and across multiple scales (e.g., micro to macro). However, conventional communication techniques do not address the unique requirements and constraints of nanoscale communication.

This committee is dedicated to the new and interdisciplinary frontier of nanoscale communications, promoting physical principles from chemistry, biology, and other fields that have not been considered in the communications literature. The committee is particularly concerned with communication techniques that are appropriate for mobile and/or autonomous devices, which cannot be connected with wires.


Lin Lin (Chair) Tongji University, Shanghai, China
Adam Noel (co-Chair) University of Warwick, Coventry, UK

Founding members:

  • Chan-Byoung Chae, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea
  • Andrew Eckford, York University, Toronto, Canada
  • Nariman Farsad, York University
  • Weisi Guo, University of Warwick, UK
  • Urbashi Mitra, University of Southern California
  • Tadashi Nakano, Osaka University, Japan
  • Chris Rose, Brown University, USA