IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity
IEEE

Nano-Metrology and Characterization TC

Nano-Metrology and Characterization Technical Committee (TC 9)

Nanotechnology involves the development and processing of materials and systems at nanoscale. Thus accurate control of dimensions of objects is important in nanotechnology. Nanometrology, a subfield of metrology, concerns with science of measurements at nanoscale level. The main research in this filed is to develop or create new measurement techniques and standards to measure the physical parameters of nanomaterials and nanodevices such as length or size, force, mass, electrical, magnetic and other properties. Therefore, nanometrology plays a crucial role in producing nanomaterials and devices with a high degree of accuracy and reliability in nanomanufacturing. Some popular instrumental techniques can be used for measuring or determining the parameters for nanostructures and nanomaterials including X-Ray Diffraction, Transmission Electron Microscopy, High Resolution Transmission Electron Microscopy, Scanning Probe Microscopy, Scanning Electron Microscopy, Field Emission Scanning Electron Microscopy and etc. Nanocharacterization concerns the theoretical and practical aspects of using the nanometrological instruments to characterize the physical properties of nanomaterials, nanostructure, nanodevices, and nano systems.

The main goal of this technical committee is to recruit worldwide researchers in the field of nano-metrology and characterization and encourage them actively participate the activities of IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC), thus to increase the impact of NTC sponsored conferences and to enhance the leadership of NTC in nanotechnology and to expand the global presence of NTC.

Website: http://www.pitt.edu/~gul6/NanoMC.html

Contact: Peng Li, Beijing University of Technology (BJUT), lipeng2020@bjut.edu.cn

NameAffiliationemail
Chair
Peng LiBeijing University of Technology (BJUT)lipeng2020@bjut.edu.cn
Members                    
Mike AdelKLA-Tencormike.adel@kla-tencor.com
K. C. FanNational Taiwan Universityfan@ntu.edu.tw
Christofer HieroldSwiss Federal Institute of Technologychristofer.hierold@micro.mavt.ethz.ch
Steve HummelNanometrics, Inc.shummel@nanometrics.com
Gerd JagerTechnical University Ilmenaujaeger@mb.tu-ilmenau.de
Chih-Ming KeTaiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Companycmke@tsme.com
Yi-sha KuCenter for Measurement Standardsyku@itri.org.tw
Cheol Jin LeeKorea Universitycjlee@korea.ac.kr
Jon OpsalTherma-Wave, Inc.jopsal@thermawave.com
K. S. PengCenter for Measurement StandardsGwo-Sheng.Peng@itri.org.tw
W. C. WangNational Tsing Hua Universitywcwang@pme.nthu.edu.tw
Liming LiuKLA-Tencorliuliming.pitt@gmail.com
Lianqing LiuShenyang Institute of Automationlqliu@sia.cn
Zuobin WangChangchun University of Science and Technologywangz@cust.edu.cn
Meng LiShenyang University of Technologylimeng_sut@163.com
Guangyong LiUniversity of Pittsburghgul6@pitt.edu
Minlin JiangNanchang Universitysemiflyer1978@hotmail.com