IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

NTC Past-President Elected to Royal Academy of Engineering

Prof. Chennupati Jagadish of the Australian National University,  former IEEE Nanotechnology Council President and 2015 Pioneer Award recipient has been elected as a 2022 International Fellow of UK’s Royal Academy of Engineering.

The Royal Academy of Engineering brings together the knowledge and experience of some of the best and brightest engineers, inventors and technologists in the UK and from around the world to promote excellence in engineering and to enhance and support engineering research, policy formation, education and entrepreneurship.

Each year, up to 60 Fellows are typically elected to the Fellowship as well as up to 10 International and five Honorary Fellows, in recognition of their outstanding and continuing contributions to the profession. They are distinguished by the postnominals FREng and HonFREng respectively, and join a community of almost 1,700 eminent engineers on a mission to use the power of engineering to build a sustainable society and create an inclusive economy that works for everyone. New Fellows are nominated and elected by existing Fellows. See

Professor Chennupati Jagadish is a pioneer in applying nanotechnology to semiconductor optoelectronic sources and detectors. He has made significant contributions to semiconductor lasers, optoelectronic integration and nanowire devices. His work is widely exploited in optical communication systems and infrared detectors used in the defence, biomedical and manufacturing industries. He has served an advisor to the Australian Government on Nanotechnology, and also established the Australian Nanotechnology Network and the Canberra node of the Australian National Fabrication Facility to serve academic and industrial needs. He has served as the President of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council (2008, 2009), IEEE Photonics Society (2018,2019), Australian Materials Research Society (2016-2019) and is currently serving as the President of the Australian Academy of Science (May 2022-May 2026).


Comments are closed.