IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

IEEE Nanotechnology Council Elects 2021 Officers

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) elected new officers at its Annual Administrative Committee Meeting held virtually 23-24 July.

Representatives of the twenty-three IEEE Societies who are Council members gather annually to conduct Council business and elect officers. This year three positions were up for election: President-elect for 2020 (President in 2021-22), VP for Conferences and VP for Finances (2021-22).

Prof. Fabrizio Lombardi, International Test Conference (ITC) Endowed Chair at Northeastern University, Boston was elected President-elect for 2020. Jin-Woo Kim, Director of Bio/Nano Technology Group and Professor of Biological Engineering at the University of Arkanasa, was elected Vice President for Conferences 2021-2022. Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske, Professor of ECE and Director of VLSI & Emerging Technology DA Laboratory at Portland State University, was elected Vice-president for Finances 2021-2022.


Prof. Fabrizio Lombardi, holds the International Test Conference (ITC) Endowed Chair at Northeastern University, Boston USA.

Fabrizio Lombardi graduated from the University of Essex (UK) with a B.Sc. (Hons.) in Electronic Engineering. He received the Master in Microwaves and Modern Optics (1978), the Diploma in Microwave Engineering (1978) and the Ph. D. from the University of London (1982). He is currently the holder of the International Test Conference (ITC) Endowed Chair at Norards: the Visiting Fellowship at the British Columbia Advanced System Institute, Canada, twice the Texas Experimental Engineering Station Fellowship, the Halliburton Professorship and an Atheastern University, Boston. At the same Institution during the period 1998-2004 he served as Chair of the ECE Department. He is a IEEE Fellow; he has received many professional awward from the Ministry of Science and Education of Japan. He has won multiple Best papers awards from conferences as well as the recipient of the Initiation Award from the IEEE/Engineering Foundation and a Motorola Quill Award.



VP Conferences

Jin-Woo Kim is a Director of Bio/Nano Technology Group and a Professor of Biological Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, and Nanoscience & Engineering at the University of Arkansas since July of 2001. He was visiting professors at Harvard University, Brookhaven National Laboratory, and Pohang University of Science & Technology (POSTECH), and holds an adjunct professorship at the Department of Electrical Engineering of POSTECH. He was educated at Seoul National University (B.S.’86 in Chemical & Biological Engineering), University of Iowa (B.S.’91 in Microbiology), University of Wisconsin (M.S.’94 in Biology), and Texas A&M University (Ph.D.’98 in Biological Engineering). He served as the NTC Vice President for Publications (2017-2019) as well as organizing committees for several NTCsponsored IEEE conferences, including IEEE-NANO, IEEE-NEMS, and IEEE-NANOMED. He is a fellow of American Institute for Medical & Biological Engineering (AIMBE), a senior member of IEEE, an NTC Nanotechnology Distinguished Lecturer (2017-2018), and a co-Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Open Journal of Nanotechnology.



VP Finances

Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske is Professor of ECE and Director of VLSI & Emerging Technology DA Laboratory at Portland State University, where she was ECE Department chair from 2004 to 2010. Previously, she was with the Technical University of Warsaw and the Research and Production Center of Semiconductor Devices. She holds a Ph.D degree in EE from Auburn University. Her research interests include CAD for VLSI and 3DICs, nanotechnology and nano/bio systems, and design for emerging and renewable technologies. She has presented tutorial, keynote, and invited talks at international conferences, published 150+ technical papers, and serves as panelist/reviewer for the National Science Foundation, National Research Council Canada, and international journals and conferences. Her research has been supported by NSF and industry. She received the 1990 Best Paper Award from Alabama Section of IEEE and IEEE CEDA 2008 Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award in IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided-Design.




Comments are closed.