IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

2018 Awards Ceremonies

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council announces its 2018 Award Winners. Individual Awards were presented at its 13th Nanotechnology Materials & Devices Conference (NMDC 2018) held in Portland, Oregon, USA on 14-17 October 2018. The T-NANO Paper of the Year Award was presented at IEEE-NANO held 24-26 July 2018 in Cork , Ireland.


The NTC Pioneer Award in nanotechnology is to recognize individuals who by virtue of initiating new areas of research, development or engineering have had a significant impact on the field of nanotechnology. The award is intended for people who are in the mid or late portions of their careers, i.e., at least 10 years beyond his or her highest earned academic degree on the nomination deadline date.

2018 Pioneer Award Recipient

Professor Nader Engheta at the University of Pennsylvania has been selected as the recipient of the 2018 IEEE Nanotechnology Council Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology, with the citation: “For his transformative contributions to the nanoscience and nanotechnology of photonic metamaterials and for the development of optical nanocircuits”

Professor Engheta is known for founding the field of optical nanocircuits (“optical metatronics”) and his pioneering development and contributions to this field, which has merged the fields of nanoelectronics and nanophotonics. He is also known for developing epsilon-near-zero (ENZ) materials with near zero electric permittivity. Through this work he has opened many new frontiers, including optical computation at the nanoscale and scattering control for cloaking and transparency. Professor Engheta’s work has far reaching implications in various branches of materials science, optics, microwaves, and quantum electrodynamics.

His current research activities span a broad range of areas including photonics, metamaterials, nano-optics, graphene optics, electrodynamics, imaging and sensing inspired by eyes of animal species, microwave and optical antennas, and physics and engineering of fields and waves. He has received several awards for his research including the 2017 William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award from the IEEE Photonics Society, the 2015 Gold Medal from SPIE, the 2015 Fellow of US National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the 2014 Balthasar van der Pol Gold Medal from the International Union of Radio Science (URSI), the 2017 Beacon of Photonics Industry Award from the Photonics Media, the 2015 Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship Award from US Department of Defense, the 2012 IEEE Electromagnetics Award, the 2015 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Distinguished Achievement Award, the 2015 Wheatstone Lecture in King’s College London, the 2013 Inaugural SINA Award in Engineering, 2006 Scientific American Magazine 50 Leaders in Science and Technology, the Guggenheim Fellowship, and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal.




The Nanotechnology Council has established an Early Career Award to recognize individuals who have made contributions with major impact on the field of nanotechnology. Up to two awards may be given per year. There may be one award for academics (persons employed by colleges or universities) and one for persons employed by industry or government organizations.

Early Career Award Recipient

Professor Can Bayram at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has been selected as the recipient for the 2018 IEEE Nanotechnology Council Early Career Award, with the citation: “For seminal contributions to III-V quantum devices and their hetero-integration on silicon and graphene platforms through nanotechnology.”

Bayram is a leader in the design, growth, and fabrication of III-V quantum devices. He has engineered novel quantum structures that have enabled the development of LEDs, lasers, photodetectors and solar cells covering the spectral range from deep ultraviolet to terahertz. This work includes the growth of cubic phase GaN on nanopatterned silicon, and the invention of GaN-on-Graphene technology that enables the production of low defect wafer-scale GaN-based devices on inexpensive and reusable substrates.

Prof. Bayram received the Ph.D. degree from Prof. Manijeh Razeghi, Center for Quantum Devices, EECS of Northwestern University, IL, USA with a focus on Solid State and Photonics in 2011. His thesis work has demonstrated the first ultraviolet regime single photon detection, the first hybrid LED, and the first GaN intersubband devices. He received IEEE Electron Devices and IEEE Photonics Societies’ fellowship awards and the Laser Technology, Engineering and Applications Award from SPIE. He was an IBM and Link Foundation PhD fellow and the recipient of Boeing Engineering and Dow Sustainability Innovation awards.




At the beginning of each year, T-NANO selects a paper that appeared in the Transactions during the previous calendar year for its Best Paper Award. Candidate papers are nominated by members of the Editorial Board. Evaluation is done by members of the Senior Editors Panel, with criteria including technical merit, originality, potential impact on the field, clarity of presentation, and practical significance for applications.

The winner of the 2017 TNANO Best Paper Award is

“Negative Capacitance for Boosting Tunnel FET performance”
by Masaharu Kobayashi; Kyungmin Jang; Nozomu Ueyama; and Toshiro Hiramoto, Institute of Industrial Science, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan (DOI: 10.1109/TNANO.2017.2658688).

To read the paper go to



Comments are closed.