IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

About the Nanotechnology Council

About the Nanotechnology Council



The IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) is a multi-disciplinary group whose purpose is to advance and coordinate work in the field of Nanotechnology carried out throughout the IEEE in scientific, literary and educational areas. The Council supports the theory, design, and development of nanotechnology and its scientific, engineering, and industrial applications.




The IEEE BoD approved formation of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council and its Field of Interest on February 17, 2002. The IEEE Nanotechnology Council is part of Division I – Circuits and Devices and is made up of 22 member societies:

  1. Aerospace & Electronic System Society (AES)
  2. Antennas & Propagation Society (AP)
  3. Circuits & Systems Society CAS)
  4. Communications Society (COM)
  5. Computer Society (C)
  6. Control Systems Society (CS)
  7. Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEI)
  8. Electron Devices Society (ED)
  9. Electronics Packaging Society (EP) [Formerly CPMT]
  10. Engineering in Medicine & Biology Society (EMB)
  11. Electromagnetic Compatibility Society (EMC)
  12. Industrial Electronics Society (IE)
  13. Instrumentation & Measurement Society (IM)
  14. Photonics Society (PS)
  15. Magnetics Society (MAG)
  16. Microwave Theory & Techniques Society (MTT)
  17. Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society (NPS)
  18. Reliability Society (RL)
  19. Solid State Circuits Society (SSC)
  20. Robotics & Automation Society (RA)
  21. Systems, Man, & Cybernetics Society (SMC)
  22. Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, & Frequency Control Society (UFFC)

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council has many chapters. See the Chapters page for a list with contacts.

The NTC has a Constitution and Bylaws.
The NTC is governed by an executive committee (Excom) and an Adminstrative Committee (AdCom).
Officers are elected by the AdCom at the annual meeting, held at the International Nanotechnology Conference (“NANO”).
Nominations are solicited by the Chair of the Nominating Committee prior to the Annual Meeting.

IEEE members are committed to the highest standards of integrity, responsible behavior, and ethical and professional conduct. The IEEE Nanotechnology Council reaffirms its commitment to an environment free of discrimination and harassment as stated in the IEEE Code of Conduct, IEEE Code of Ethics, and IEEE Nondiscrimination Policy. The Council also adheres to the IEEE Privacy Policy.

The Excom consists of the following officers (9) and VP-elects (5):

  • President (2 year term, beginning in even years)
  • President-Elect (1 year term, in odd years)
  • Past-President
  • Vice President of Conferences (2 year term, beginning in odd years)
  • Vice-President of Educational Activities (2 year term, beginning in even years)
  • Vice President of Finance (2 year term, beginning in odd years)
  • Vice President of Publications (2 year term, beginning in even years)
  • Vice President of Technical Activities (2 year term, beginning in even years)
  • Secretary (appointed) [non-voting]
  • Vice President-elect for Conferences (elected in odd years) [nonvoting]
  • Vice-President-elect for Educational Activities (elected in even years) [nonvoting]
  • Vice President-elect for Finances (elected in odd years) [nonvoting]
  • Vice President-elect for Publications (elected in even years) [nonvoting]
  • Vice President-elect for Technical Activities (elected in even years) [nonvoting]

As needed, Standing Committee Chairs and Editors-in-Chiefs are invited to Excom to report activities.
See our current officers.

The AdCom consists of the following:

Voting members: [36]

  • Excom voting members [8]
  • Society representatives (2 per Society) [44] (one vote per member Society, primary voter designated annually by each Society president to cover the event that both representatives are present at the time of voting or for online voting)
    The term of office of a Member Society representative on the Council shall be two years with each of the two Society representatives appointed by the Society in alternate years. Reappointment is at the discretion of the Society represented.
  • Member-at-Large (up to 6) [6] (Up to three Members-at-Large are to be elected from the slate in even years and up to three are elected in odd years.) The term of the Member-at-Large is two years and will be elected to this position by vote from a slate of candidates. The term limit for Member-at-Large is four consecutive years.

Non-voting members:

  • Council Secretary
  • Non-Voting Society representatives (up to 1 per Society)
  • Editor-in-Chief, Transactions on Nanotechnology (T-NANO)
  • Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine  (INM)
  • Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Nanotechnology Web Content / Facebook / e-Newsletter
  • Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Open Journal of Nanotechnology
  • Chair, Awards Committee
  • Chair, Constitution & Bylaws Committee
  • Chair, Education Committee
  • Chair, Fellows Evaluation Committee
  • Chair, Fellows Search (new)
  • Chair, Finance Committee (VP Finance per Bylaw B4.1, Rev. 1)
  • Chair, Industrial Advisory Committee
  • Chair, Liaison and Transnational (Past-President per Bylaw B4.1, Rev. 1)
  • Chair, Meetings Committee (VP Conferences per Bylaw B4.1, Rev. 1)
  • Chair, Nominations & Appointments Committee (Past-President per Bylaw B4.1, Rev. 1 unless Past-President elects not to serve then appointed)
  • Chair, Publications Committee (VP Publications per Bylaw B4.1, Rev. 1)
  • Chair, Chapters and Regional Activities Committee
  • Chair, Standards Committee
  • Chair, Technical Activities Committee (VP Technical Activities per Bylaw B4.1, Rev. 1)
  • Chair, Women in Nanotechnolgy (WIN) (new)
  • Chair, Young Professionals (YP) (new)
  • Chairs/Co-Chairs of Council Technical Committees
  • Chairs of Council 100% financially sponsored conferences.
  • Division I Director
  • Vice President TAB
  • Secretary TAB
  • Administrative Assistant

See our current Adcom members.

NTC has the following Standing committees:

  • Awards
  • Chapters and Regional Activities
  • Constitution and Bylaws
  • Education
  • Fellows Evaluation
  • Fellows Search (new)
  • Finance
  • Industrial Advisory
  • Liaison and Transnational
  • Meetings
  • Nominations & Appointments
  • Publications
  • Standards
  • Technical Activities
  • Women in Nanotechnolgy (WIN) (new)
  • Young Professionals (YP) (new)
  • Distinguished Lecturers Subcommittee

See our committees page.


NTC has four major publications and an e-newsletter:

See our Publications page for details.

NTC has a presence on FaceBook, see this post on how to join/connect.

Signup for the newsletter and NTC announcements here.

NTC has a legacy online Community: IEEE Nanotechnology OnLine Community

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council has local chapters in several countries. See the Chapters page for details.

For commonly asked questions see our FAQ here.

IEEE members: become a participant in the Nanotechnology Council for free.

Contact us:

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)


    Your Message


    Edited: 26-Jan-23