IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

Nanotechnology Council 2016 Officers

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) elected new officers for 2016 at its Annual Meeting held on 27 July 2015  in Rome, in conjunction with its 2015 International Conference on Nanotechnology (IEEE NANO).

Two positions were up for election: Vice-President for Technical Activities and Vice-President for Publications.

Prof. Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Portland State University, Portland, Oregon was elected Vice-President of Technical Activities.

Prof. Yonhua (Tommy) Tzeng of the College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Institute of Microelectronics at National Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan was elected Vice-President for publications.

JeskeJeske is an IEEE Senior Member and Professor of ECE and Director of VLSI & Emerging Technology DA Laboratory at Portland State University, where she was ECE Department chair from 2004 to 2010. Previously, she was with the Technical University of Warsaw and the Research and Production Center of Semiconductor Devices. She holds a Ph.D degree in EE from Auburn University.

Her research interests include CAD for VLSI and 3DICs, nanotechnology and nano/bio systems, and design for emerging and renewable technologies. She has presented tutorial, keynote, and invited talks at international conferences, published 150+ technical papers, and serves as panelist/reviewer for the National Science Foundation, National Research Council Canada, and international journals and conferences. Her research has been supported by NSF and industry.

She received the 1990 Best Paper Award from Alabama Section of IEEE and IEEE CEDA 2008 Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award in IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided-Design.

Prof. Jeske has served on the CASS Board of Governors 2008-2013, the Nanotechnology Council AdCom 2013-2014, and was CASS Distinguished Lecturer Program Chair 2009-2010.


Yonhua TzengTzeng is an IEEE Fellow and University Chair Professor of Institute of Microelectronics in the Department of Electrical Engineering, College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, at National Cheng Kung University, the second largest major research-intensive comprehensive university in Tainan, Taiwan with 22,000 students.

Dr. Tzeng joined Auburn University in 1983, was promoted to be an Alumni Chair Professor of ECE and served as Associate Director of Alabama Micro/Nano Science and Technology Center.  He retired from Auburn University in 2007 to serve as VP for Research at NCKU, where he was the founding EIC of an online magazine with close to two million readers. He has been a visiting professor at Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge University, UK, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan and Argonne National Lab, USA.

Dr. Tzeng is a world renowned scientist in diamond, graphene, nano-carbons and nanotechnology.  He has published 240 journal and conference papers, 15 US patents, 15 Taiwan patents.

Dr. Tzeng’s demonstrated professional leadership in IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) activities includes serving as VP for Technical Activities (2005-2007), VP for Publications (2008-2009 and 2015-), General Chair of 2014 IEEE NMDC in Tainan, Taiwan, Chair of the Technical Committee on Nanotechnology for the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, Chair of ExCom for the International New Diamond and Nano Carbon Conference,.

Comments are closed.